Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Darrow's New Orleans Grill. We'd love to have your feedback!

Carson

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Darrow's New Orleans Grill and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Michael 3 days ago

Jambalaya

Over the years my wife and I patronized the Marina del Rey location many times, trying just about every plate special, a sandwich or two, and jambalaya and file gumbo. Of course we always added a side of the delicious vegetarian bayou greens. Loved the warm welcomes by I believe Uncle Darrow and staff. Because of distance I've only been to the Carson location once to meet up with a friend who lives in Los Alamitos. Same great food and welcoming vibe. My wife and I must create a reason to swing by Carson soon.

Dr. Erin 16 days ago

Bean Balaya

My husband and I first started eating at Uncle Darrow's 10 years ago when the restaurant was situated in Marina Del Rey. The catfish, shrimp, collard greens, tater salad, jambalaya and peachy cobbler have always been our favorites. The food is always of quality and tasty. Every time we eat Uncle Darrow's food we get a little taste of New Orleans.

Linda 17 days ago

Bayou Blend Greens

Love the the greens.

Natalie 23 days ago

Peachy Cobbler

When you're in the mood for a little something sweet after your delicious meal, the Cobbler is the way to go.

Natalie 23 days ago

Bayou Classic Po'Boy

They call it a classic for a reason, you can't go wrong.

Natalie 23 days ago

Zeek Po'Boy

Perfectly coated catfish and shrimp over a bed of potato salad, eat this with Darrow'a green sauce, and you will not be disappointed.

Natalie 23 days ago

Bean Balaya

The perfect side if you don't want an entire order with your Po'Boy. Just like everything at Darrow's it's delicious and will leave you wanting more.

Ed 26 days ago

Jambalaya

Love this place and especially the people. The food is fantastic and you feel so welcome. Glad they're close to where I live!

Geoff about 1 month ago

Jambalaya

It just doesn't get better than this jambalaya!!! I would drive 20 miles in the midst of a pandemic on my birthday to get some of this ... wait, I just did!

Josie2k4 about 2 months ago

Lagniappe Special Shrimp, Oyster, Bayou Classic or Zeek Po'Boy

OMG WHAT CAN I SAY, BUT WOW. FLAVOR EVERY TIME I TAKE A BITE I WANNA SLAP SOMEBODY ELSE'S MOMMA NOT MINE BECAUSE SHE SLAPS BACK LOL. BUT IN ALL SERIOUSNESS UNCLE DARROW THE FOOD YOU PUT OUT TO ME AND MY ELDERLY PATIENTS KEEPS US FULL AND HAPPY. THANK YOU SO MUCH TO THE STAFF FOR STAYING OPEN DURING THIS PANDEMIC ❤ 💕. GOD BLESS

Brian about 2 months ago

French Bread

Their French bread doesn't have too much butter or oil on it and has a faint garlic taste. Yum!

Sacha about 2 months ago

Shrimp Supper

Shrimp was Fried to perfection. The batter is very tasty. Bean Balaya as a side is something you won't regret and definitely won't forget. Been coming since the Marina, glad the food is the same.

Sarahdouglassdc 2 months ago

Shrimp Po'Boy

This food and the overall experience was amazing! I'm so happy to be part of the Darrows family and to get a taste of home out west!

Janis 3 months ago

Big Easy Supper

I really have to give this restaurant five stars. Everything we ate was delicious. We also ordered the Chicken Wing Supper and the 32 oz Rum Punch (which took us, who rarely drink alcohol, a couple of days to finish). It was a lot of food for us, which turned out to be a great second meal. We ordered late on Father's Day and they were out of macaroni and cheese, but we were still very satisfied. They have a nice selection to choose from, so not sure what we will order on our second visit, but I do want to try their macaroni and cheese.

Nbrisco 3 months ago

Jambalaya

Where do I begin. Uncle Darrow's food is authentic, tasty, and just right! Last month when my family visited the restaurant for takeout, I ordered the jambalaya and it was perfect. It has the right amount of seasoning, not greasy, made with chicken sausage and the right portion size, so I could also enjoy a sample of my husband's food. When you eat at Uncle Darrow's it is like eating back home in Da Boot! Real food with flavor!!

Marcus 3 months ago

Shrimp Po'Boy

This is the best Po'Boy place in Los Angeles hands down. The batter for the shrimp is great, the sandwich is perfectly roasted and satisfying. I can't recommend this place enough especially for people who have never had New Orleans style food

Jennifer 3 months ago

Zeek Po'Boy

We have been getting the Zeek Po'Boys since the Lincoln days and they are to die for! The potato salad is a perfectly creamy pair to the crunchy shrimp and catfish. Everything about this po'boy is perfect and just thinking about it now makes me want to go get another one!

Jennifer 3 months ago

Cajun Pups

These cajun pups are so good. Perfect amount of heat with such a good flavor.

Frankuperberg 4 months ago

Shrimp Po'Boy

I've been ordering the Shrimp Po-Boy since I was five, and have never been disappointed!! Perfect bread, perfect crunch on the shrimp, 10/10. If I was on a desert Island and could only eat one food for the rest of my life, it would be this.

Kellylguidry 4 months ago

File Gumbo

I have been coming to Uncle Darrows since 2006 when they were on Lincoln in Marina Del Rey. I fell in love with the gumbo and the blue crab they use. I have tried almost everything on the menu. There is no disappointment with this restaurant. I'm so glad they moved to Carson, I work in Long Beach now so I try and stop in every other week for Gumbo, hurricane, and wings

Tania 4 days ago

File Gumbo

The most delicious gumbo I have tried, just like my mom's gumbo!

Linda 17 days ago

Turkey Sausage or Chicken Sausage Po' Boy

excellent sandwich

Natalie 23 days ago

Cajun Fries

Fried and seasoned to perfection. Dip it in the green sauce and you're good to go.

Natalie 23 days ago

Lagniappe Special Chicken Breast Po'Boy

Simply, delicious!

Natalie 23 days ago

Cajun Pups

We ordered these to try something new off the menu, and were SO pleased. Will need to order two next time because sharing was not a good move. Left us wanting more!

Natalie 23 days ago

File Gumbo Ya Ya

All you need to know, is that you NEED to order this. Perfection in a dish. Soooo good every time. 💕

Sylvia 23 days ago

Chicken Breast Supper

Yummy meal

Geoff about 1 month ago

Shrimp Po'Boy

Tucking into this po'boy takes me back to a spot on the waterfront in the French Quarter watching the Natchez cruise on down the Mississippi! This is the real deal!

Shielda about 1 month ago

Shrimp

The mild grilled shrimp is the best and wish I could eat it everyday. I have not had any shrimp in California that tastes as good as the grilled shrimp in this restaurant. I wish Darrow's sold the shrimp in larger groups instead of the pack of four, but does not matter - the shrimp is so savory I will always add it to my order.

Brian about 2 months ago

Big Easy Supper

My hubby and I split this dinner tonight and it was just right. 4 pieces of catfish and 4 shrimp for him and 4 plump, delicious oysters for me. Darrow's has the best fried oysters hands down. They are larger than anywhere else I have had them and always nice and plump. Have a bite for me if you order them!

Brian about 2 months ago

Red Beans & Rice

Love the spice of this dish. It had great flavor and though spicy wasn't too hot! I feel like this one is a healthier options with the red beans in it. Love the greens, but they were out :(. I will definitely order this again.

Hwp4ss about 2 months ago

Soft Shell Crab Po'Boy

Best Po'Boy's I've ever had! I've tried other places but none come close. I always have to have it when I go. Love the wings as well!

Janet 3 months ago

Fillet Catfish

Delicious, tasty, not greasy.

Viranda 3 months ago

Oyster Po'Boy

I have been coming to Darrow's since they first opened their Carson location. I appreciate the staff and management team. They always have been a pleasure. I have not had an item on their menu that dissatisfied me. I love supporting local businesses. Whenever friends come and visit this is the place I bring them

Calvin 3 months ago

32oz Hurricane (on the rocks)

The hospitality of the staff at Darrow's is as good as the 32oz Hurricane. There is always a sense of appreciation and welcoming friendliness every single time I go there, which is weekly.

Marcus 3 months ago

Fillet Catfish Po' Boy

I tell everyone that this is the best Po'Boy place in Southern California. The batter is just like how they do it in New Orleans. The Catfish is good, the shrimp you can't go wrong. I'm glad this place has expanded its hours again

Jennifer 3 months ago

Chicken Breast Po'Boy

Got these for my kids, ages 6 and 7, and they were DEVOURED! I managed to sneak a bite before they finished and it was delicious. Super soft bread, and perfectly seasoned chicken with all the yummy toppings. Will definitely get this again.

Trenalawson 3 months ago

Fillet Catfish Po' Boy

Amazing fresh catfish. Seasoned perfectly and was served nice and hot. The big plus with the food here is that the presentation is always on point! I love to eat where I see that the food looks good. Also There's always quality service from really good staff! One of my favorite places. have that good old home feel.

Cwatts1308 4 months ago

Catfish Supper

We were introduced to Darrows's last year. Been coming every time we're in LA, we live in Orange County. The quality and quantity and atmosphere brings us back. We're originally from Florida, so the flavors are there. We order the catfish red beans and rice, or catfish and grits) always creamy), my husband orders the fried chicken but states that it's kind of salty other than that I would recommend Darrow too as many people that ask where too go for good down home cooking

Wright 4 months ago

File Gumbo

Gumbo, peach cobbler, sandwich all the food is delicious all the time.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA