Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Darrow's New Orleans Grill. We'd love to have your feedback!

Carson

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Darrow's New Orleans Grill and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Applelaw1 about 20 hours ago

Combo Supper

My partner had this and really loved it. His only complaint, if you want to call it that, was that he would have liked a sauce with the catfish.

Tracinichelleperry 2 days ago

File Gumbo

Ok, so both sides of my family are from Louisiana. My generation was the first born in California. My Mom's food was all I knew growing up. Her gumbo happened once a year - Christmas time (we were poor and the seafood ingredients were a luxury), and I couldn't wait. She passed away in 1998, and I haven't had what I knew to be gumbo, since. I'd tried several friend's, relatives, and restaurants. Nothing came close. I gave up. I literally had not had gumbo in well over a decade. Enter Uncle Darrow's. I dropped in when I happened upon the sign - Creole, Cajun, Louisiana? Ok, I'll try a Po-boy (gumbo wasn't even a thought... Remember, I was done). I sat down to hospitality that reminded me of my family roots. I placed my order, and was BLESSED with a sample of their gumbo (my expectations were low, but at least it was free, right?). OhEmmGee - I almost lost my mind - I couldn't believe it... Gumbo that tasted like... well GUMBO. I could hardly contain my excitement. I was in love with gumbo again. I had finally, FINALLY found gumbo that was good enough to bear the name, AND it reminds me of my Mom. All the ingredients - Crab, shrimp, sausage, it was all there, with just the right amount of kick. #PERFECTION So while you may see this as a review, please also accept it as a note of thanks for doing gumbo right, and providing me this piece of nostalgia!

Christophervfountain 19 days ago

Chicken & Waffles

Best thing i ever had i couldn't believe it was so good i order this everyday on post mates i haven't eatin nothin else this is the best place I've eating at in the South Bay keep up the good work you guys are awesome

Rachel 25 days ago

Soft Shell Crab Po'Boy

I come all the way from Switzerland for Darrow's. The food is delicious, the welcome is warm and you always leave happy!

Ladyluck31oh about 1 month ago

Chicken Wing Supper

The chicken is crispy and delicious!! The sides were great! Not to mention the great staff and owner who were very exceptional!!! Wish I lived closer so I could get it delivered. Will be back!!

Steelskulls about 1 month ago

Combo Supper

Best creole food ive had. Will def go again.

Eric about 1 month ago

Chicken Wing Supper

My son enjoyed the Chicken Wing supper and even save something for the next day.

Marlene about 2 months ago

Bean Balaya

Jambalaya rice, sausage and beans. The best of all good food. Soothing and tasty.

Marlene about 2 months ago

Fillet Catfish

I travel many, many miles to eat Darrow's tasty catfish! It's the only catfish I eat.

Juanita about 2 months ago

Fillet Catfish Po' Boy

Visit last week, as they prepared to feed the Seniors, food was excellent as usual ; fresh, plentiful, tasteful and filling. Never disappointed. The service is all that.

Michael 2 months ago

Jambalaya

Over the years my wife and I patronized the Marina del Rey location many times, trying just about every plate special, a sandwich or two, and jambalaya and file gumbo. Of course we always added a side of the delicious vegetarian bayou greens. Loved the warm welcomes by I believe Uncle Darrow and staff. Because of distance I've only been to the Carson location once to meet up with a friend who lives in Los Alamitos. Same great food and welcoming vibe. My wife and I must create a reason to swing by Carson soon.

Dr. Erin 3 months ago

Bean Balaya

My husband and I first started eating at Uncle Darrow's 10 years ago when the restaurant was situated in Marina Del Rey. The catfish, shrimp, collard greens, tater salad, jambalaya and peachy cobbler have always been our favorites. The food is always of quality and tasty. Every time we eat Uncle Darrow's food we get a little taste of New Orleans.

Linda 3 months ago

Bayou Blend Greens

Love the the greens.

Natalie 3 months ago

Peachy Cobbler

When you're in the mood for a little something sweet after your delicious meal, the Cobbler is the way to go.

Natalie 3 months ago

Bayou Classic Po'Boy

They call it a classic for a reason, you can't go wrong.

Natalie 3 months ago

Zeek Po'Boy

Perfectly coated catfish and shrimp over a bed of potato salad, eat this with Darrow'a green sauce, and you will not be disappointed.

Natalie 3 months ago

Bean Balaya

The perfect side if you don't want an entire order with your Po'Boy. Just like everything at Darrow's it's delicious and will leave you wanting more.

Ed 3 months ago

Jambalaya

Love this place and especially the people. The food is fantastic and you feel so welcome. Glad they're close to where I live!

Geoff 4 months ago

Jambalaya

It just doesn't get better than this jambalaya!!! I would drive 20 miles in the midst of a pandemic on my birthday to get some of this ... wait, I just did!

Josie2k4 4 months ago

Lagniappe Special Shrimp, Oyster, Bayou Classic or Zeek Po'Boy

OMG WHAT CAN I SAY, BUT WOW. FLAVOR EVERY TIME I TAKE A BITE I WANNA SLAP SOMEBODY ELSE'S MOMMA NOT MINE BECAUSE SHE SLAPS BACK LOL. BUT IN ALL SERIOUSNESS UNCLE DARROW THE FOOD YOU PUT OUT TO ME AND MY ELDERLY PATIENTS KEEPS US FULL AND HAPPY. THANK YOU SO MUCH TO THE STAFF FOR STAYING OPEN DURING THIS PANDEMIC ❀ πŸ’•. GOD BLESS

Applelaw1 about 21 hours ago

Chicken Breast Supper

Had it spicy, and it was really juicy and tasty. Would definitely order it again!

Ashleywms86 9 days ago

Catfish Supper

I get the catfish supper all the time and it's great each time!!! I finally tried the grilled fish and now I can't make up my mind which way I prefer! You won't be disappointed!!

Linda 22 days ago

Oysters

Good morning just wanted to say a little something about my worst stress I had from Darrow's New Orleans Grill. I'm very particular about my oysters being fried correctly I had no problem they were delicious perfectly fried and season. Thank you

Myshopping85 about 1 month ago

Lagniappe Special Catfish Po'Boy

A FANTASTIC place everyone must visit, ASAP!! Sadly, the hours have shortened due to Covid, but the QUALITY of food & CORDIALITY of the owner & crew are still SKY HIGH!! Best food this side of Nawlins, and no plane ticket is needed! Best Catfish, Oysters, Shrimp, Gumbo, Po'Boys, adult beverages...are you getting hungry & are you on your way yet??!! One word for Darrows: YUMMMMMM!!!!!! πŸ‘πŸ˜πŸ₯°

Brenda about 1 month ago

Tater Salad

I've enjoyed Uncle Darrow's potato salad on numerous occasions. My last meal it tasted like doctored store bought which doesn't do the restaurant any justice. If you don't have the time to do it right then take it off the menu that day.

Eric about 1 month ago

Bayou Classic Po'Boy

My wifes first time trying a Po Boy and she couldn't have been more impressed. The flavors were outstanding and had the right amount of ingredients. If you haven't tried Darrows, now is the time to go.

Eric about 1 month ago

Shrimp Supper

We waited too long to try Darrows, the shrimp was juicy and tender. The fries were delicious. Very welcoming and authentic.

Marlene about 2 months ago

Tater Salad

I love Darrow's Tater Salad😊😊😊 Excellent!

Marlene about 2 months ago

Shrimp

The shrimps were cooked perfectly and it was so tasty as it always is. Pure heaven 😍 ❀ Tender, crispy, tasty! I travel many miles to eat Darrow's delicious shrimp.

Marcus about 2 months ago

Shrimp

I haven't been there in four years and everything is still the same I used to go to the original location in Marina Del Rey and now that I found them in Carson I'm a happy man!

Tania 2 months ago

File Gumbo

The most delicious gumbo I have tried, just like my mom's gumbo!

Linda 3 months ago

Turkey Sausage or Chicken Sausage Po' Boy

excellent sandwich

Natalie 3 months ago

Cajun Fries

Fried and seasoned to perfection. Dip it in the green sauce and you're good to go.

Natalie 3 months ago

Lagniappe Special Chicken Breast Po'Boy

Simply, delicious!

Natalie 3 months ago

Cajun Pups

We ordered these to try something new off the menu, and were SO pleased. Will need to order two next time because sharing was not a good move. Left us wanting more!

Natalie 3 months ago

File Gumbo Ya Ya

All you need to know, is that you NEED to order this. Perfection in a dish. Soooo good every time. πŸ’•

Sylvia 3 months ago

Chicken Breast Supper

Yummy meal

Geoff 4 months ago

Shrimp Po'Boy

Tucking into this po'boy takes me back to a spot on the waterfront in the French Quarter watching the Natchez cruise on down the Mississippi! This is the real deal!

Shielda 4 months ago

Shrimp

The mild grilled shrimp is the best and wish I could eat it everyday. I have not had any shrimp in California that tastes as good as the grilled shrimp in this restaurant. I wish Darrow's sold the shrimp in larger groups instead of the pack of four, but does not matter - the shrimp is so savory I will always add it to my order.

Brian 4 months ago

Big Easy Supper

My hubby and I split this dinner tonight and it was just right. 4 pieces of catfish and 4 shrimp for him and 4 plump, delicious oysters for me. Darrow's has the best fried oysters hands down. They are larger than anywhere else I have had them and always nice and plump. Have a bite for me if you order them!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

October 2020:
Charn, Vitaly
Costa Mesa, CA

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores,Β FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's AllΒ American
Mount Joy, PAΒ 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos PotrillosΒ 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande'sΒ Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf CreameryΒ 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's CrabΒ House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The RustikΒ Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai RamenΒ Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe &Β Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods BrewingΒ Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's CityΒ Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's SportsΒ Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This LittleΒ Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant BasedΒ Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA